Skip to content

Be My Valentine: Food & Flickr

February 11, 2010

My Mom is a really good cook. I learned my improvisational cooking style from her to be sure. My Dad on the other hand taught me how to bake and although he is aces at it, I still pretty much suck at it because I am impatient.  Anyway, since Valentine’s Day lands on Sunday this year I thought I’d share my Mom’s roasty toasty Italian Beef  recipe. It is perfect for a a group of pals, a family gathering, or for two partners with hearty appetites. Hm. Now that I type this I feel as if I posted this recipe before…eh, it’s worth repeating even so.

Italian Roast Beef

6 lb. Arm roast

6 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil

3 cups of beef broth (I use Superior Touch’s Better than Beef Bouillon) it comes in a jar
and has a consistency like paste.  In the grocery store, you can find it by the liquid broth.  1 cup boiling water to 1 teaspoon of base = 1 cup of broth

2 package Good Seasons Italian Dressing (dry)

10 garlic cloves

1 bottle of beer (I have found that Guinness beer works the best – it adds a nice flavor)

1 medium to large jar of sliced pepperoncinis (you can find these in the pickle/olive aisle.  If you can’t find sliced, buy whole pepperoncinis and slice thinly and place back in the juice).

Take the roast and make 6 slits with a sharp knife along one side of the roast.  In each opening, place 1 of 6 peeled garlic cloves.  Drizzle extra virgin olive oil on the roast and rub one of the packages of dry Good Seasons packages into the roast – let sit while you do the next step.

On top of the stove in a heavy duty roaster/Dutch oven, place 3 tablespoons of olive oil until warm, and then place 4 peeled and smashed garlic cloves in the oil.  Watch carefully because you do not want to burn the garlic or you have to start over.   You want the garlic a light brown color.  Once this is completed, turn off the heat and place the roast in the roaster/Dutch oven.

Pour the broth, beer and the other package of Good Seasons over the roast. Roast covered in a 350-degree oven for 2 hours.  At the 2 hour mark, pour half of the jar of juice and pepperoncinis on the meat and broth mixture and stir into the liquid.  Roast for another 2 hours.

Remove meat and string or slice and return to the heavy-duty roaster liquid.  Serve on hoagie buns, sliced baguette or French bread (cut into 5 inch pieces and slit for serving).

The Italian Beef freezes well.  Place in a freezer container and make sure the top of the beef has a nice thin coating of the au jus before sealing and freezing.

my flickr favorites. click.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

