Skip to content

I’m no Tom Cruise in Cocktail, but…

April 16, 2009

Lately, my partner-in-crime and I have been paying greater attention to what we eat, which is a snore if you yammer on about what you’re missing or how hard is it to diet. Although, I must mention that it is maddening that results are showing much sooner in my gentleman friend. (Punch.)

My point is that it’s forcing us to be a little more creative. Hence, the mashing of cauliflower and pretending it’s anything from rice to potatoes to teeny pasta. Just our luck, all of this creativity is seeping into our cocktail making, as well. Since it takes more time to muddle fruit or shake up a specialty drink, I end up having fewer, saving myself some calories, and avoiding a foggy-headed morning.

Onward to the recipes! FYI, these are based on Mr. Boston recipes and this article from the Chicago Reader.

Tweaked Red Headed Martini

Muddle 4 roughly chopped strawberries, a ½ t. of simple syrup, and ¾ of an ounce of orange juice in a metal shaker. Once all is muddled, throw in a handful of ice cubes and 1 ounce of your favorite vodka. Shake in the shaker and then strain into a Champagne glass. Top with a little bit of seltzer or soda water if you’re feeling fizzy.

Tweaked Hard Sell (by Brad Bolt of Bar DeVille)

¾ ounce shots of the following spirits: Malört, gin, St-Germain elderflower liqueur, poured over a handful of ice in your shaker. Plus, ¾ fresh lemon juice, reserve a couple squeezes of juice for the end. I like things tart. Shake it up proper and pour over fresh ice in your preferred tumbler. Top with seltzer or soda water to temper the flavors and make the drink last a little longer. I also put a little extra lemon juice in after the fizz and garnish with a lemon twist.

I got a little lazy when mixing my drink and ended up creating a fantastic mash-up of the redheaded drink and the hard sell fizz. Strawberry pulp FTW!

His on the left. Mine on the right. Note, usually my drink is a lemon yellow, but I got a little lazy when mixing my second drink and ended up creating a fantastic mash-up of the redheaded drink and the hard sell fizz. Strawberry pulp FTW!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

